EN, página actualES
Subscribe, it's free

HealthcareHealthcare & Insurance

Centene's Gold Card vs. UnitedHealthcare and Humana

160,000+ providers qualify when Centene's national Gold Card starts in November. How it compares with two rival programs and the CMS prior authorization rule.

Health and Tech Now staff · 2 min read
Abstract signal grid illustration
Illustration: Health and Tech Now, original generated art (signal grid)

More than 160,000 providers qualify for Centene’s national Gold Card when it starts in November 2026. Centene announced the program on Oct. 13, 2026.

The program covers select outpatient services. A provider with Gold Card status sends a prenotification, then gives the care without waiting for an authorization decision. Prenotifications go through Availity, or through the Evolent portal for services Evolent manages.

Participation is by invitation. Centene scores each ordering or referring tax ID on approval history, documentation quality, compliance with medical policy and regulatory requirements. Inpatient services are not included. Centene says provider feedback from 24 states shaped the program, and it plans to add services and providers over time. State and federal rules shape how it runs in each state, Centene says.

Three national programs, side by side

Program Start Instead of approval Providers at launch
Centene Nov 2026 Prenotification 160,000+
UnitedHealthcare Oct 2024 Advance notification Not stated
Humana Jul 2026 Notice of intent Not stated

UnitedHealthcare started the first national Gold Card program in October 2024. Its third year began Oct. 1, 2026 for qualified groups, the company told providers on July 16, 2026.

No application is needed. A tax ID qualifies if it is in network, files at least 10 eligible prior authorizations a year for 2 years in a row and keeps a 92.0% approval rate. Status covers every provider under that tax ID, across commercial, Individual Exchange, Medicare Advantage and Community Plans.

Claims for Gold Card codes are not paid without the advance notification. On April 1, 2026, UnitedHealthcare took some codes off the list because they no longer need prior authorization at all.

Humana started its National Gold Card Program in July 2026 for select services, its provider page says. Humana scores providers on clinical quality, utilization patterns and other factors, and notifies the ones who qualify. They file a notice of intent in Availity Essentials. The service goes ahead without waiting for a decision, and Humana keeps oversight through monitoring.

All three swap the approval wait for a notice. Only UnitedHealthcare lists numeric cutoffs in the sources above. Only Centene gives a provider count.

What CMS requires

CMS finalized the Interoperability and Prior Authorization rule, CMS-0057-F, on Jan. 17, 2024. The Federal Register published it on Feb. 8, 2024 (89 FR 8758). It covers Medicare Advantage plans, Medicaid and CHIP fee for service programs, Medicaid managed care plans, CHIP managed care entities and plans sold on the federal Exchanges. Drugs are excluded.

  • Jan. 1, 2026: decisions within 72 hours for urgent requests and 7 calendar days for standard requests. Federal Exchange plans are exempt from this deadline.
  • 2026: a specific reason for every denial.
  • March 31, 2026: first public prior authorization metrics, posted yearly after that.
  • Jan. 1, 2027: a Prior Authorization API that lists covered services, shows documentation rules and handles the request and the answer. Exact dates vary by payer type.
  • 2027: clinicians and hospitals in Medicare’s Promoting Interoperability programs attest to sending at least one electronic prior authorization.

Why it matters

The CMS rule sets how fast plans must answer and what they must report. Gold cards decide which providers skip the request for some services. Centene’s program adds a third national carrier to that list in November.

160,000+
The NumberProviders eligible for Centene's national Gold Card at launchCentene, Oct. 13, 2026. The program starts in November 2026. Source: Centene press release, Oct 13, 2026
Sources
  1. Centene press release, Oct 13, 2026 (investors.centene.com)
  2. Centene Gold Card program page (read Oct 24, 2026) (centene.com)
  3. UnitedHealthcare National Gold Card program page (read Oct 24, 2026) (uhcprovider.com)
  4. UnitedHealthcare provider news, Jul 16, 2026 (uhcprovider.com)
  5. UnitedHealthcare provider news, Mar 1, 2026 (uhcprovider.com)
  6. Humana National Gold Card Program page (read Oct 24, 2026) (provider.humana.com)
  7. Humana Gold Card Quick Start Guide (read Oct 24, 2026) (assets.humana.com)
  8. CMS fact sheet, CMS-0057-F, Jan 17, 2024 (cms.gov)
  9. Federal Register, 89 FR 8758, Feb 8, 2024 (federalregister.gov)
More HealthcareMore Healthcare & Insurance
Health and Tech Now is an independent publication. Views are not those of any employer. Public sources only.